The Posey County Solid Waste District is a government agency established in 1991 by Indiana HB 1240.  The Board of Directors is made up of the three county commissioners, one county councilman, the Mayor of Mt. Vernon, a councilman from Mt. Vernon, and an elected official from another municipality.  Board meetings are held the 3rd Tuesday of each month at 11:00 am in the district office.  

Yard waste

 The  Poseyville Yard Site is available to residents for limbs, leaves, and brush.  No lawncare businesses, please.  Firewood (you cut) is available at times.  Mulch is also available at times.  The yard site is closed between mid-December and early March.


The Posey County Solid Waste District offers education for classrooms, scout troops, and organizations.   Recycling, reuse, hazardous materials handling, and composting talks are available for all age groups.  Hands-on paper-making and reuse art projects are available also.  Facility tours are also available.